menu Arc Poetry Magazine

Topic: Diana Brebner Prize

Announcing the 2021 Diana Brebner Prize Winner and Honourable Mention

Winner: “Kaytlyn invites me to a party” by Dessa Bayrock

2021 Judge Sheniz Janmohamed had this to say:

“’Kaytlyn invites me to a party’ has such a strong poetic voice and I feel as though the poet is speaking directly to me. A very grounded, vulnerable and human voice. There are questions waiting for answers, like the eyes of a friend glaring at me for a response or some reassurance. The poet seamlessly interweaves the motifs of rosehips and cicadas with their own inner state. Such an unexpected metaphor, and there’s a beautiful quirkiness about it!”


Dessa Bayrock lives in Ottawa with two cats, one of whom is very loud and almost always nearby. She used to fold and unfold paper for a living at Library and Archives Canada, and is currently a PhD student in English, where she continues to fold and unfold paper. She has two chapbooks with Katie Stobbart: The Trick to Feeling Safe at Home (Coven Editions, 2021) and Worry & Fuck (forthcoming from Collusion Books). You can find her, or at least more about her, at, or on Twitter at @YoDessa.

The Diana Breb­ner Prize Deadline has been Extended until September 10, 2021!

The 2021 Judge for the Diana Brebner Prize will be…

Sheniz Janmohamed!

Attempting Embedding

link space Hello! I am not able to put a Buy Button on my WordPress website, I put the code in the text editor and save it, and the text disappears and is replaced with some asterisk and slashes. I put in this: /**/ And after saving, I get this: /**/ Which displays like […]

Announcing the 2019 Diana Brebner Prize Winner and Honourable Mention

Congratulations to this year’s winner and runner-up! This year the judge for Arc’s Diana Brebner Prize was Ian Letourneau. As the winner of the $500 prize, he selected Dawn Steiner’s poem “Morning Walk,” as well as choosing Natalie Hanna’s “light conversation” for the honourable mention. The poets will be honoured and will read their poems […]

Arc's Lampman and Brebner Evening

Our event: Arc Poetry Magazine presents our Lampman and Brebner Evening, featuring readings by the finalists for this year’s Archibald Lampman Award and the winner of the 2015 Diana Brebner Prize. The event will be held on Monday, September 21 at Black Squirrel Books & Tea in Old Ottawa South (1073 Bank Street). Doors open […]

Arc 77 – Canada's Simple Alternatives Poetry Magazine

Kevin Shaw’s “Turing’s Time Machine” takes 1st prize in the Poem Of The Year contest.

2015 Diana Brebner Prize: winner and runner-up announced

2015 Diana Brebner Prize Winner: Sneha Madhavan-Reese Congratulations to this year’s winner and runner-up! The Diana Brebner Prize honours an emerging poet from the Ottawa region who has not yet been published in book form. This year’s winner of the $500 prize is Sneha Madhavan-Reese for “Rosa Parks” and the runner-up is Ken Victor for […]

Diana Brebner Prize

Diana Brebner Prize Celebrates Emerging Poets The Diana Brebner Prize is awarded yearly for the best poem written by a National Capital Region poet, who has not yet been published in book form. The $500 prize honours the late Diana Brebner, an award-winning Ottawa-based poet who was devoted to fostering literary talent among new, local […]