Archibald Lampman Award

Prize: $1,500

The Archibald Lamp­man Award rec­og­nizes an out­stand­ing book of English-language poetry by an author liv­ing in the National Cap­i­tal Region.

Archibald Lampman was one of Canada’s finest 19th-century poets. Born in 1861, he graduated from Trinity College (Toronto) in 1882, then moved to Ottawa where he worked for the Post Office until his death in 1899. He is known for his ability to immerse metaphysics in the details of nature, which he observed while hiking round what was then the wilderness capital of a new country. His books include Among the Millet (1888), Lyrics of Earth (1895) and the posthumous Alcyone (1900).

For the years 2007 through 2009, the Archibald Lampman Award merged with the Duncan Campbell Scott Foundation to become the Lampman-Scott Award. This partnership came to an end in 2010, and the prize returned to its former identity as the Archibald Lampman Award for Poetry.

Past Winners

YearBookPoet & PublisherFinalists & Judges
2023But the sun, and the ships, and the fish, and the wavesConyer Clayton
Anvil Press
2022Masses on RadarDavid O’Meara
Coach House Books
2021A Different WolfDeborah-Anne Tunney
McGill-Queen’s University Press
2020Mad Long EmotionBen Ladouceur
Coach House Books
2019Dividing the Wayside Jenny Haysom
Palimpsest Press
2018CharmChristine McNair
2017All of Us Reticent, Here, TogetherStephen Brockwell
Mansfield Press
Adrienne Gruber, George Murray & Moez Surani
2016the pet radish, shrunkenPearl Pirie
2015CongotronicShane Book
House of Anansi
2014 A Pretty SightDavid O’Meara
Coach House Books
Stan Dragland, Katherina Vermette & Adam Dickinson
2013ElseworldsNina Berkhout
Seraphim Editions
Priscila Uppal, Andris Taskans & Robin Richardson
2012Wore Down TrustMichael Blouin
Pedlar Press
2011A Short History of ForgettingPaul Tyler
Gaspereau Press
2010 True Concessions Craig Poile
Goose Lane Editions
2009Noble Gas, Penny BlackDavid O’Meara
Brick Books
Sandy Shreve, Mark Abley & Meredith Quartermain
2008The BinderyShane Rhodes
NeWest Press
2007Disappointment IslandMonty Reid
Chaudiere Books
Stephen Guppy, Tonja Gunvaldsen Klaassen & Sue Sinclair
2006This Woman AlphabeticalLaura Farina
Pedlar Press
Sue Goyette, Ken Howe & Sue Wheeler
2005Fruitfly GeographicStephen Brockwell
ECW Press
Jeanette Lynes, matt robinson, Russell Thornton
2004The VicinityDavid O’Meara
Brick Books
Brian Bartlett, Stephanie Bolster & Aislinn Hunter
2003Holding PatternShane Rhodes
NeWest Press
Tim Bowling, John Steffler & Rhea Tregebor
2002At Geronimo’s GraveArmand Garnet Ruffo
Coteau Books
2001Coastlines of the ArchipelagoColin Morton
2000Two Bowls of MilkStephanie Bolster
McClelland & Stewart
1999Sweet EllipsisJohn Barton
1998Woman of Sticks, Woman of StonesSandra Nicholls
1997Flora & FaunaDiana Brebner
1996The Perfect Cold WarriorGary Geddes
1995Designs from the InteriorJohn Barton
1994Apology for Absence Selected Poems 1962-1992John Newlove
1993Summer GrassMarianne Bluger
1992A Garden EnclosedBlaine Marchand
1991Wylah FallsGeorge Elliot Clarke
1990No Easy ExitGary Geddes
1989Habitable PlanetsPatrick White
1988West of DarknessJohn Barton
1987Arriving at NightChristopher Levenson
1986This Won’t Last ForeverColin Morton
Skip to content