menu Arc Poetry Magazine

Announcing the 2019 Diana Brebner Prize Winner and Honourable Mention

Congratulations to this year’s winner and runner-up!

This year the judge for Arc’s Diana Brebner Prize was Ian Letourneau. As the winner of the $500 prize, he selected Dawn Steiner’s poem “Morning Walk,” as well as choosing Natalie Hanna’s “light conversation” for the honourable mention.

The poets will be honoured and will read their poems at the 2019 Lampman Award Shortlist Reading, on October 3rd.

Congratulations to both on some great poetry!

Diana Brebner Prize Celebrates Emerging Poets

A black and white image of Diana Brebner

The Diana Breb­ner Prize is awarded yearly for the best poem writ­ten by a National Cap­i­tal Region poet, who has not yet been pub­lished in book form. The prize hon­ours the late Diana Breb­ner, an award-winning Ottawa-based poet who was devoted to fos­ter­ing lit­er­ary tal­ent among new, local writers.