menu Arc Poetry Magazine

Arc Poetry Magazine presents the Ottawa Poetry Awards Reading

Each year, Arc Poetry Magazine is proud to honour Ottawa poets. We are pleased to present finalists for the Archibald Lampman Award for the outstanding book of poetry published in 2016 by a National-Capital area author. Also featured are winners of the Diana Brebner Prize competition, which honours emerging poets in the Ottawa area.

The readings will take place at Black Squirrel Books, 1073 Bank Street, Ottawa, Ontario at 8:00pm on Tuesday, October 17.

The award is named in honour of Archibald Lampman (1861 – 1899), one of Canada’s finest nineteenth-century poets. Lampman moved to Ottawa in 1882, and much of his poetry was inspired by the National Capital Region.

The Archibald Lampman Award will be presented on October 18, at Ottawa City Hall, in conjunction with the Ottawa Book Awards. Congratulations to the finalists and their publishers! Arc would also like to thank judges George Murray, Adrienne Gruber and Moez Surani.


The Lampman finalists are:

Sandra Ridley, Silvija (Toronto: Book*hug, 2016)

With a combination of deep lyrical prowess and loving biographical narrative, Silvija is a stunning investigation of grief and departure. Heartbreaking and yet energizing to read. It’s like watching fireworks happen inside a heart.


Stephen Brockwell, All of Us, Reticent, Here, Together (Toronto: Mansfield Press, 2016)

A witty, quirky and fierce exploration of generational intimacy, of biography, of both mundane and the extraordinary, this book is a rich report from the territory where life and art meet. The imagination at work here is attentive and full of reverence for its diverse subjects.


Dean Steadman, Aprés Satie — For Two and Four Hands (London, ON: Brick Books, 2016)

This book is arresting in its propulsive merging of narratives and its delicate, sophisticated lines. With sensuality and lyricism, Steadman deploys the vocabulary and references of Eric Satie’s life to create poems that, like Satie, recur, develop, and grow with serenely understated associations.


The reading will also feature the winner of the Diana Brebner Prize, given for a poem by an emerging Ottawa-area poet not yet published in book form. The judge this year was Calgary Poet Laureate Micheline Maylor. The 2016 winner of the Brebner Prize is Conyer Clayton for her poem “Seeds.” An Honourable Mention goes to Sarah MacDonell for her poem “Beinn Bhiroach.” Both poets live and work in Ottawa.



Arc is grateful for the support of the Canada Council for the Arts, the Ontario Arts Council, the City of Ottawa, as well as many individual supporters. For further information contact Arc Poetry Magazine at