menu Arc Poetry Magazine

Diane Brebner Prize


Thanks to all those who entered the 2012 contest. The Diana Brebner Prize recognizes the talent of emerging poets. Get Arc 68 this June to read our winning poems.

The Diana Brebner Prize is awarded each year for the best poem by written by a National Capital Region poet not yet been published in book form. The prize is named in honour of the late Diana Brebner, an award-winning, Ottawa-based poet who was devoted to fostering literary talent among new local writers.


Read Past Winners:

2012: “Engaging the core” by Lauren Turner

2011: “Minnowing” by Jenny Haysom

2010: “Lee Krasner’s Grey Period” by Robyn Jeffrey

2009: “Crow, of the Family Corvidae” by Gillian Wallace

2008: “Momentum” by Frances Boyle

2007: “Withdrawal” by Guy Simser

2006: “Hecuba” by Rhonda Douglas