menu Arc Poetry Magazine

Diana Brebner Prize

Brebner banner image resize

Thanks to all those who entered the 2012 contest. The Diana Brebner Prize recognizes the talent of emerging poets. Get Arc 68 this June to read our winning poems.

The Diana Brebner Prize is awarded each year for the best poem by written by a National Capital Region poet not yet been published in book form. The prize is named in honour of the late Diana Brebner, an award-winning, Ottawa-based poet who was devoted to fostering literary talent among new local writers.


Read Past Winners:

2012: “Engaging the core” by Lauren Turner

2011: “Minnowing” by Jenny Haysom

2010: “Lee Krasner’s Grey Period” by Robyn Jeffrey

2009: “Crow, of the Family Corvidae” by Gillian Wallace

2008: “Momentum” by Frances Boyle

2007: “Withdrawal” by Guy Simser

2006: “Hecuba” by Rhonda Douglas



2012 Diana Brebner Prize


Entry fee is $23 for up to two poems and includes a one-year subscription to Arc, beginning with the Summer issue.

All cheques or money orders should be made out to the Arc Poetry Society. You can now pay by credit card or paypal the Online.

Length of each poem must not exceed 30 lines (including spaces).

Entrant’s name, address, e-mail, or phone number must not appear on the poem, but on a separate sheet of paper that also lists the titles of the poems entered.

Entrants must be residents of the National Capital Region and not have yet published their poetry in book form.

No simultaneous submissions or previously published poems will be accepted.

Judging is blind.

The winner will be published in Arc‘s Summer issue.

No email submissions will be accepted.

No entries will be returned.


Deadline: postmarked by March 15, 2012


Privacy Notice: Unless you indicate otherwise, Arc may share addresses of entrants to the 2011 Diana Brebner Prize with similar literary magazines or related organizations for promotional purposes.


Send entries to:

Diana Brebner Prize
Arc Poetry Magazine
PO Box 81060
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada, K1P 1B1