2013 Diana Brebner Prize Winner: Marilyn Irwin

Congratulations to this year’s winner and runner-up!


The Diana Brebner Prize honours an emerging poet from the Ottawa region who has not yet been published in book form. This year’s winner of the $500 prize is Marilyn Irwin and the runner-up is Mike Caesar. Congratulations on great poetry!

Diana Brebner Prize Celebrates Emerging Poets

Brebner banner image

The Diana Brebner Prize is awarded yearly for the best poem written by a National Capital Region poet, who has not yet been published in book form. The $500 prize honours the late Diana Brebner, an award-winning Ottawa-based poet who was devoted to fostering literary talent among new, local writers.

2013 Diana Brebner Prize


  • Entry fee is $23.00 for up to two poems, and includes a one-year subscription to Arc, beginning with the Summer issue;
  • Payments can be made through PayPal, or by cheque or money order made out to the Arc Poetry Society;
  • Length of each poem must not exceed 30 lines (including spaces);
  • Entrant’s name, address, e-mail, and phone number must not appear on the poem, but on a separate sheet of paper which also lists the titles of the poems entered;
  • Entrants must be residents of the National Capital Region and have not yet published their poetry in book form;
  • No simultaneous submissions or previously published poems will be accepted;
  • Judging is blind;
  • 2013’s judge will be Canadian poet Sue Sinclair;
  • The winner will be published in Arc’s Summer issue;
  • No email submissions will be accepted;
  • Entries will not be returned.


Deadline: Entries must be postmarked by March 15, 2013


Send entries to:

Diana Brebner Prize
Arc Poetry Magazine
PO Box 81060
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada, K1P 1B1


Read Past Winners:

2012: “Enga­ging the core” by Lauren Turner

2011: “Minnowing” by Jenny Haysom

2010: “Lee Krasner’s Grey Period” by Robyn Jeffrey

2009: “Crow, of the Family Corvidae” by Gillian Wallace

2008: “Momentum” by Frances Boyle

2007: “Withdrawal” by Guy Simser

2006: “Hecuba” by Rhonda Douglas


Privacy Notice: Unless you indicate otherwise, Arc may share addresses of entrants to the 2013 Diana Brebner Prize with similar literary magazines or related organizations for promotional purposes.

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!
  • Share on Social Networks