Poem of the Year Contest

Extended Deadline: February 15, 2015!
$5,000 could be yours!

In Spring 2015, Arc will be awarding one $5,000 grand prize to the Poem of the Year…and we’ll be accepting email submissions!
Deadline: February 1, 2015…

The Arc-Cordite Poetry Special Issue

Arc Poetry Magazine proudly presents a collaborative issue with Australia’s Cordite Poetry Review.

Posts: Contests »

POTY badge

Poem of the Year Contest

Extended Deadline: February 15, 2015! $5,000 could be yours!   In Spring 2015, Arc will be awarding one $5,000 grand prize to the Poem of the Year…and we’ll be accepting email submissions!   Deadline: February 1, 2015 February 15, 2015

Ottawa Book Awards 2015 — Note to Authors

This just in from the City of Ottawa:    The City of Ottawa is now accepting submissions to the 2015 Ottawa Book Awards competition.  The deadline for submission is January 5, 2015 (for books published by Ottawa authors in 2014)  The 2015 Ottawa Book Awards Program Guidelines and Submission Form are available at: www.ottawa.ca/bookawards . We ask that you review the guidelines to ensure that your book is eligible for this year’s award.  Please note that all authors are required to submit a signed Submission Form to the Cultural Funding office. If your books are to [...]
Typewriter with Poetry buttons, vintage

Arc presents Ottawa Poetry Awards Reading at Pressed

Each year, Arc Poetry Magazine honours Ottawa poets. Arc is proud to present the three 2014 finalists for the Archibald Lampman Award for the outstanding book of poetry by a National-Capital area author.  Also featured are winners of the Brebner Prize competition, which honours emerging poets in the Ottawa area.  The readings will take place at Pressed, 750 Gladstone Ave, Ottawa, Ontario at 7:30pm on Thursday, October 9 The award is named in honour of Archibald Lampman (1861 – 1899), one of Canada’s finest nineteenth-century poets. Lampman moved to Ottawa in [...]

Polls closed for POTY Reader’s Choice

Let the counting commence! That’s it that’s all; the voting has officially closed for Arc’s Reader’s Choice Poem of the Year for 2014. Thanks to everyone who took the time to vote!

Poem of the Year update

Our volunteers are still hard at working converting hard copy to electronic text — the shortlist will be posted soon!
POTY for Banner

Poem of the Year Contest

Who will write the Poem of 2014?   In 2014, Arc will be awarding one $5,000 grand prize to the Poem of the Year!   Deadline: February 14, 2014
Brebner for Banner

Diana Brebner Prize

Diana Brebner Prize Celebrates Emerging Poets The Diana Brebner Prize is awarded yearly for the best poem written by a National Capital Region poet, who has not yet been published in book form. The $500 prize honours the late Diana Brebner, an award-winning Ottawa-based poet who was devoted to fostering literary talent among new, local writers. 2014 Diana Brebner Prize Guidelines: Entry fee is $23.00 for up to two poems, and includes a one-year subscription to Arc, beginning with the Summer issue; Payments can be made through PayPal, or by cheque or money order made [...]
Lampman banner image resize

Archibald Lampman Award

The Archibald Lampman Award recognizes an outstanding book of English-language poetry by an author living in the National Capital Region.   Next entry deadline: March 31, 2014, for books published between January and December 2013 by a recognized publisher. View press releases. The Inspiration Archibald Lampman was one of Canada’s finest 19th-century poets. Born in 1861, he graduated from Trinity College (Toronto) in 1882, then moved to Ottawa where he worked for the Post Office until his death in 1899. He is known for his ability to immerse metaphysics in the details of nature, which [...]
Nickel photo

2012’s best poem pub­lished in Arc: Vancouver Aquarium Secret by Barbara Nickel

The Con­fed­er­a­tion Poets Prize, named in recog­ni­tion of a group of Cana­dian poets who were born around the time of Cana­dian Con­fed­er­a­tion, is awarded annually to the best poem pub­lished in Arc during the pre­ced­ing year. In the for­ma­tive years of a new coun­try, these poets helped lay the foun­da­tion for a tra­di­tion of poetry. A cen­tury later, Arc hon­ours them and acknowl­edges the wealth of new Cana­dian poetry. This year’s winner is Barbara Nickel for “Vancouver Aquarium Secret” from Arc 69, our Children’s Poetry annual. Nickel’s descriptions of moving through urban [...]

Critic’s Desk Award 2013 Winners!

Critic’s Desk Award With the Critic’s Desk Award, Arc marks the importance that the thoughtful treatment of poetry holds in the evolution and wider appreciation of the genre. Inaugurated in Arc’s 25th-anniversary year, the Critic’s Desk Award honours excellence in book reviewing. The Award is given annually to a feature review and to a brief review to have been published in Arc in the previous calendar year.
Newsletter Powered By : XYZScripts.com